Dota Pro Circuit
September 21, 2017 | by Radu Muresan
Featured News

The Dota Pro Circuit

For the first time ever, Valve has announced a well structured Dota Pro Circuit for the new competitive season. A total of 27 tournaments are on the list: 11 Majors and 16 Minors. These types of tournaments have a prize pool of $1+ million and $300K+ respectively. They also reward the top 4 participants with a total of (PrizePool/1000) x 1.5 points (in the case of Majors) and PrizePool/1000 points (in the case of Minors). This naturally creates a much more transparent ranking system. And since the dates for each tournament are known ahead of time, it gives teams a way to know what’s in store and prepare for the future.

The points reserved for each tournament are awarded to the top 4 teams in the following way: 50% for 1st place, 30% for 2nd place, 15% for 3rd place and 5% for 4th place. If a tournament doesn’t differentiate between 3rd and 4th place, they both get 10%.

An important aspect to keep in mind is that these points are not awarded to the teams themselves, but to each of their players. The sum of the points of the top 3 players in a team constitutes the team’s rank or total. When players switch teams, they take their points with them.

Throughout the competitive season, tournament organizers will have the freedom to decide on their own which teams get directly invited to their event, regardless of the position they occupy within Valve’s ranking system.

At the end of the circuit, the top 8 teams will receive direct invites to The International 2018. The other invited teams will be determined based on Regional Qualifiers.

To find out more about the Dota Pro Circuit go to

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *